Middle Level Honor Band

KBA Middle Level Band Co-Chairs
Travis Johnson & Stephanie Marston

The 2017 Middle Level Band will take place on Friday, July 21, 2017 during the KBA Summer Convention at the Marriott Hotel in Wichita, KS.

2017 KBA Middle Level Band Brochure – PDF

2017 Parent Letter (permission form)PDF

2017 Student LetterPDF

Director’s Nominations

Nomination deadline is April 19, 2017, 11:59:59 PM (CST)

  • Directors must be current members of KBA and in attendance at the convention in order to have students participate in the KBA Middle Level Honor Band.
  • The band selection process will come from director nominations throughout the state.
  • Nominations are submitted on the KBA website.
  • Students currently in 6th, 7th, or 8th grade will be accepted.
  • Please include specific comments regarding each submission. (These comments will aid in the selection of students.)
  • All entries are to be submitted no later than the posted deadline.

* Directors – It is essential to share this pertinent information with the students you are nominating. Students and families must be aware of the date of this event, and willing to make the commitment to participate if selected.

The band size is limited to approximately 90 students, so please understand that not every student nominated will be selected. We must strive to have a balanced instrumentation in this band. The selection of students/instrumentation will be posted on the KBA website the first part of May.

Each selected student will incur a participation fee of $40. The fee includes lunch for the students. In addition, all directors who have students participating in the honor band must be registered for the KBA convention, on site and available throughout the duration of your student’s visit in the event assistance is necessary. Districts who do not have directors on site to assist and supervise students will be charged $100.

This unique summertime event allows you, the director, an opportunity to reward student progress and achievement, as well as providing your students a wonderful honor band experience with a nationally recognized conductor/clinician! Come share in the wealth of presentations, hands on learning sessions, concerts, and motivating, musical education opportunities the KBA convention will offer.

Schedule of Events – Jul. 21, 2017

Time Event
8:00 Registration
8:20 Seating Begins
8:40 Rehearsal Begins
10:00 Break
10:25 Rehearsal Resumes
12:00 Lunch Provided
12:45 Rehearsal Resumes
2:00 Break
2:30 Final Rehearsal
3:30 Change for Concert
4:30 Concert
KBA Middle Level Band Roster – 2017


  1. Erika Eberting, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Braegan Zimmerman, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
  3. Aubrey Barton, Marysville
  4. Kiana Jessepe, Holton MS
  5. Emma Sanders, Macksville JH
  6. Abigail Griffin, Cheney
  7. Riley Thompson, Pratt-Skyline MS
  8. Alexa Gerdes, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  9. Virginia Wright, Pomona-West Franklin MS
  10. Josie Cochran, Sedgwick Schools
  11. Brianna Russell, Lyons MS
  12. Ashley Robinson, Kansas City-Sumner Academy


  1. Isaac Meyers, Conway Springs MS
  2. Sarah Grafton, Holton MS


  1. McKenna Minneman, Marysville
  2. Emily Imes, Overland Park-Westridge MS
  3. Jadelyn Pohlman, Sedgwick Schools


  1. Macy Brownlee, Sterling JH
  2. Taisia Sarazov, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Christopher Clear, Cheney
  4. Jaylee Giles, Burrton MS
  5. Christina Voth, Sterling JH
  6. Hilary Tallman, Andover-Central MS
  7. Katina Bartel, Holton MS
  8. Emma Mayhill, Great Bend MS
  9. Cora Harper, Sedgwick Schools
  10. Sydney Althauser, Holton MS
  11. Tally Wikum, Leon-Bluestem Elem.
  12. Alyssa Homes-Ford, Eudora MS
  13. Brooklyn Korte, Leon-Bluestem Elem.
  14. Johnna Rosson, Caney Valley
  15. Cierra Hockett, Leon-Bluestem Elem.
  16. Gabriella Reyes, Great Bend MS
  17. Ahnna Mellenbruch, Holton MS
  18. Zane Varvel, Parsons MS
  19. Chloe Pontious, Parsons MS
  20. Piper Essington, Neodesha-Northlawn Elem.
  21. Cody Richardson, Derby-North MS

Bass Clarinet

  1. Lauren Sterling, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Shelbi Kresyman, Waverly Jr/Sr HS
  3. Danielle Winn, Leon-Bluestem Jr/Sr HS
  4. Madison Records, Andover MS

Alto Sax

  1. Emily Palmer, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  2. Faxon Freeman, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Alessandra Maldonado, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
  4. Tavin Sieber, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
  5. Allison Campbell, Holton MS
  6. Mason Albers, Cheney
  7. Taylor Martin, Macksville JH

Tenor Sax

  1. Conner Eastman, Cheney
  2. Aurora Anderson, Leon-Bluestem Jr/Sr HS
  3. Jaylah Brown, Kansas City-Sumner Academy

Bari Sax

  1. CJ Krudwig, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Grady Postrach, Caney Valley
  3. Brandon Montgomery, Newton-Chisholm MS


  1. Will Pearson, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Pierson Rogers, Maize MS
  3. Luke Stucky, Elbing-Berean Academy JH
  4. Nic Ingram, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  5. Ian Headrick, Maize MS
  6. Joshua Bergman, Newton-Chisholm MS
  7. Dillon Bryant, Andover MS
  8. Emaleigh Batson, Leon-Bluestem Jr/Sr HS
  9. Tucker Smith, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  10. Jamie Perring, Marysville
  11. Angel Diaz, Pratt-Skyline MS
  12. David Mosier, Holton MS
  13. Sydney Tollefson, Lebo School
  14. Grace Schieferecke, Eudora MS
  15. Brooklyn Berry, Lebo School
  16. Samantha Vesper, Lyons MS


  1. Alyssa Waltrip, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Zu-Zu HIleman, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Jacy Butler, Marysville
  4. Natalie Schweizer, Sterling JH
  5. Austin Blagg, Derby-North MS
  6. Abby Parker, Neodesha HS
  7. Abby Speer, Kismet-Southwestern Heights
  8. Beatrice Turley, Overland Park-Westridge MS


  1. AJ Poulain, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Josiah Giles, Pratt-Skyline MS
  3. Jackson Ellis, Derby-North MS
  4. Leo Egging, Pratt-Skyline MS
  5. Jacob Dority, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  6. T’Lane Tobin, Pratt-Skyline MS
  7. Gavin Hawkins, Andover-Central MS
  8. Autumn Schramm, Marysville
  9. Troy Hamm, Pratt-Skyline MS
  10. Dalton Ashcraft, Holton MS
  11. Diego Flores Torres, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  12. Cody Bremenkamp, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
  13. Dylan Martin, Conway Springs MS
  14. Benjamin Willoughby, Elbing-Berean Academy JH

Baritone TC

  1. Victoria Berry, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Jackson Wallace, Pratt-Skyline MS

Baritone BC

  1. Rosemary Mena, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  2. Aidan Beesley, Conway Springs MS
  3. Ross Latta, Marysville
  4. Ana Ambrocio, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  5. Kathryn Mile, Waverly Jr/Sr HS


  1. Hunter Berens, Pratt-Skyline MS
  2. Mikaela Richert, Derby-North MS
  3. Egar Cortez, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
  4. Larry Earl, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  5. Ian Collins, Andover-Central MS
  6. Zoie Phillips, Dodge City MS
  7. Makenzie Arellano, Kismet-Southwestern Heights

Percussionlisted in alpha order

  • Adam Bradley, Derby-North MS
  • Tanner Chase, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  • Sidney Cooper, Great Bend MS
  • Sam Griffitt, Derby-North MS
  • Kyle Hampton, Pratt-Skyline MS
  • Bryce Moore, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  • David Solis, Dodge City-Comanche MS
  • Olivia Stutzman, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS