Middle Level Honor Band

KBA Middle Level Band Co-Chairs
Erik Stone and Ashten Volkman


The 2022 Middle Level Band will take place on Friday, July 22, 2022 during the KBA Summer Convention at the DoubleTree Airport Hotel in Wichita, KS.

Directors are invited to submit nominations by April 30, 2021 in the KBA Members site.
KBA Members

Parent Permission Letter 2022

2022 Clinician – Steve Graves

Having spent 35 years teaching middle school band, Steve Graves is currently in his 20th year as the band director at Lexington Junior High School in Cypress, CA.  An active adjudicator and clinician for concert band, marching bands and percussion, and indoor percussion since 1987, Steve has also been arranging and designing for over 40 years. An adjudicator for the Southern California School Band and Orchestra Association since 1989, he has been awarded the “Outstanding Adjudicator”, “Veteran Teacher”, and most recently “Outstanding Middle School Educator” awards by that association and is also a frequent clinician at their annual conference and judges training seminars. He has also served as an adjudicator in Colorado, Kentucky, and Alabama. A multi-time recipient of the “Teacher of the Year” and PTSA “Honorary Service” awards, Steve was named an Orange County “Arts Educator of the Year” in 2018. His books, “Drums, Keyboards, and More!” and “Great Beginnings; warm ups for second year band” and several works for young band are available at JW Pepper, and are currently in use throughout the country and abroad.

Once employed as a musician at Disneyland for sixteen years, he continues to be active as a percussionist with local community bands and several other regularly gigging groups. He enjoys running, cooking, performing, and anything at the beach.

Mr. Graves holds a Bachelor’s degree in Music Education from California State University, Long Beach, and a Master of Arts degree in Band Conducting from the American Band College at Sam Houston State University.

* Directors – It is essential to share this pertinent information with the students you are nominating. Students and families must be aware of the date of this event, and willing to make the commitment to participate if selected. The band size is limited to approximately 75 students, so please understand that not every student nominated may be selected. We must strive to have a balanced instrumentation in this band. The selection of students/instrumentation will be posted on the KBA website the first part of May.

Each selected student will incur a participation fee of $40. The fee includes lunch for the students. In addition, all directors who have students participating in the honor band must be registered for the KBA convention, on site and available throughout the duration of your student’s visit in the event assistance is necessary. Districts who do not have directors on site to assist and supervise students will be charged $100.

This unique summertime event allows you, the director, an opportunity to reward student progress and achievement, as well as providing your students a wonderful honor band experience with a nationally recognized conductor/clinician! Come share in the wealth of presentations, hands on learning sessions, concerts, and motivating, musical education opportunities the KBA summer convention has to offer.

Schedule of Events
7:30 – 8:00 AM – Check-in (North Banquet Lobby)
8:00 – 11:55 AM – Introductions and Rehearsal (breaks will be scheduled the day of the event)
12:00 – 12:45 PM – Lunch at DoubleTree provided by KBA
12:45 – 2:30 PM – Rehearsal Resumes
3:00 PM – KBA Middle Level Honor Band Concert

KBA ML Band Roster
  1. Alyssa McNemee, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Kaitlyn Webb, Cheney MS
  3. Elisa Bartel, Holton MS
  4. Maria Carlson, Marion MS
  5. Brin Bergkamp, Cheney MS
  6. Autumn Baethke, Eudora MS
  7. Cavan Schueller, Mount Hope-St. Joseph Catholic School, Ost
  8. Katelyn Peterson, Eudora MS
  9. Caylee Eggers, Neodesha MS
  10. Alt. 1 - Kaydence Prock, Emporia MS
  11. Alt. 2 - Lyla Schroeder, Circle MS
  1. Cael Miller, Haysville West MS
  1. Krista Adcock, Holton MS
  2. Rheegyn Richert, Winfield MS
  3. Carlyn Hollingsworth, Augusta MS
  1. Lacie Banman, Kismet-Southwestern Heights
  2. Keegan Flynn, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Jessica Broyles, South Haven JH
  4. Elizabeth Fullmer, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  5. Adria Chrislip, Eudora MS
  6. Riley Padget-Cook, Bennington Jr/Sr HS
  7. Allison Konrade, Lebo School
  8. Shiana Shippy, Bennington Jr/Sr HS
  9. Lauren Howe, Olathe-Santa Fe Trail MS
  10. Alana Grillot, South Haven JH
  11. Gabbi Perry, Haysville West MS
  12. Carley Russell, South Haven JH
  13. Bridget Woltje, Holton MS
  14. Natalie Yepez, Minneola
  15. Alt. 1 - Jasmynn Bathory, Waverly JH
  16. Alt. 2 - Chloe Brinsfield, Eudora MS
Bass Clarinet
  1. Mattalynn Smith, Winfield MS
  2. Ryleigh White, Eudora MS
  3. Adalyn Irey, South Haven JH
  4. Kylee Barr, Lebo School
  5. Alt. 1 - Aileen Figueroa Acosta, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
Alto Sax
  1. Elle Over, South Haven JH
  2. Jack Ludlum, Topeka-Robinson MS
  3. Levi Sage, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  4. Ismael Ramirez, Great Bend MS
  5. Daniel Callahan, Holton MS
  6. Dalton Peters, Holton MS
  7. Olivia Mans, Osborne Jr/Sr HS
  8. Alt. 2 - Mason Karlin, Circle MS
Tenor Sax
  1. Gabriel Gaines, Wichita-Gordon Parks Academy
  2. Ryan Vogt, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Emilina Mills, Circle MS
  4. Alt. 1 - Cordelia Byington, Emporia MS
Bari Sax
  1. Eric Lange, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Shyann Harris, Marion MS
  3. Chase Garland, Topeka-Robinson MS
  4. Alt. 1 - Arallai Wartick, South Haven JH
  1. Luke Vogt, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  2. Gracie Giger, South Haven JH
  3. Addison Easter, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  4. Hannah Higginbotham, Eudora MS
  5. Slade Cauley, Great Bend MS
  6. Julian Montenegro, St. George-Rock Creek MS
  7. Ayden Ferguson, Lebo School
  8. Sydney Roelfs, Sterling
  9. Silas Good, Caney Valley
  10. Eli Seaman, Waverly JH
  11. Alt. 1 - Sarah Lynn, Douglass-Sisk MS
  12. Alt. 2 - Kaleb Hone, Bennington Jr/Sr HS
  1. Benjamin May, Olathe-Santa Fe Trail MS
  2. Lillian Stice, Emporia MS
  3. Tiffany Cereceres, Lyons MS
  4. Hannah Lynn, Douglass-Sisk MS
  5. Alt. 1 - Olivia DeBusk, Holton MS
  1. Kaylen Gourley, Bennington Jr/Sr HS
  2. Aaron Vogt, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
  3. Byron Washington-Urbano, Holton MS
  4. Quivon Syvoravong, Winfield MS
  5. Aseel Albawardi, Cheney MS
  6. Garrison Knight, Lebo School
  7. Jake Robidoux, Hiawatha MS
  8. Mason Bellomy, Emporia MS
  9. Alt. 1 - Abel Gomez, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
Baritone TC
    Baritone BC
    1. Alex Reasoner, Olathe-Santa Fe Trail MS
    2. Braedin Gardner, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
    3. Francisco Ortiz, Topeka-Robinson MS
    4. Jedd Casey, Atchison MS
    5. Alt. 1 - Zach Moore, Olathe-Santa Fe Trail MS
    1. Emily Storrer, Emporia MS
    2. Kolby Peter, Lyons MS
    3. Brylee Perez, Kismet-Southwestern Heights
    4. Oliver Dierking, Minneola
    5. Alt. 1 - Ben Peitz, Haysville West MS
    Percussion - listed in alphabetical order
    • Dharma Drawdy, Neodesha MS
    • Aleczis Green, Liberal-Eisenhower MS
    • Rhen Hageman, Hiawatha MS
    • Braden Hoffman, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
    • Norah Kelly, De Soto-Lexington Trails MS
    • Carson Marrs, Haysville West MS
    • Aidan Roseberry, Sedgwick HS
    • Maggie Turner, Holton MS
    • Meredith Unruh, Circle MS